October 24, 2021

Educt Geria

The Devoted Education Mavens

Colquitt Regional offers multiple scholarships | Nearby Information

MOULTRIE, Ga. -– Colquitt Regional Health care Heart just lately awarded the recipients of its healthcare scholarships at the fourth once-a-year Colquitt Regional Health-related Foundation Scholarship Luncheon.

On May well 26, Colquitt Regional honored 31 recipients at Sunset Country Club. The total volume given to those people recipients exceeded $72,000.

“Each year, we are astonished to see the learners and workers who are fully commited to furthering their education and learning,” explained Colquitt Regional President and CEO Jim Matney. “Many of the scholarships specified are funded as a result of neighborhood partners who have a history with healthcare in Colquitt County. We are happy to sign up for with them to contribute to the achievements of Colquitt Regional and the health care industry as a complete.”

Since 1982, the Hospital Authority Board of Trustees has supplied an once-a-year scholarship to a citizen of Colquitt County who is pursuing a job in healthcare. This scholarship is also supplied in honor of an particular person who has made a lasting impact on the clinical industry.

Clinic Authority Chairman Maureen A. Yearta, Ed.D. introduced the 2021 Clinic Authority Trustee Scholarship to Abby Sutton. Sutton is a sophomore at Valdosta Condition University and was accepted into the VSU nursing method. She options to go after her bachelor’s degree in nursing and then continue her training to turn out to be a accredited registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA).

This $5,000 award was presented in honor of former Medical center Authority Trustee Brooks Sheldon. Sheldon served two phrases on the Hospital Authority from 2000-2018.

This year’s luncheon also observed the introduction of a new Medical center Authority Trustee Scholarship, which is readily available to PCOM South Ga learners pursuing a career in healthcare. Trent Griner and Christian Edwards, the two natives of South Ga, every acquired a $5,000 award.

The Colquitt Regional Medical Foundation awarded a few donor scholarships at $5,000 each individual. The Diane and Jim Lowry Scholarship, named right after its donors, was awarded to Isabel Simmons. Simmons is effective in dietary providers at Colquitt Regional and is presently enrolled at Southern Regional Specialized College in the radiology technician program.

The Jane and Sam Perry Scholarship, given by the Brooks Sheldon family members in memory of his dad and mom, was given to Heather Dismuke, RN. Dismuke at this time operates at Colquitt Regional in the Intensive Care Device and is performing to get her bachelor of science in nursing degree, adopted by her nurse practitioner degree.

The Anne and Monty Carlton Household Scholarship, offered by the Carlton household, was offered to Priscilla Fillyaw, RN. Fillyaw also will work in the ICU at Colquitt Regional and is doing work to get her BSN and then nurse practitioner degree.

Five college students had been picked out for the Colquitt Regional Personnel Committee Scholarship. To be suitable for the award, the receiver need to be a graduating senior who is also a dependent of a Colquitt Regional worker. This year, a $2,000 scholarship was awarded to Jack Cone, Amaria Diaz, David Friedlander, Sallie Fuller, and Fletcher Sheffield.

Colquitt Regional Volunteer Providers also presents the Rev. J.E. Moak Scholarship to a graduating senior who plans to go after a occupation in health care. This year’s receiver of the $1,000 award is Autumn Brooke Hampton.

Jimmy and Rosalind Jeter set up the Kate Jeter Scholarship in May well 2000 in memory of their daughter Kate Majors Jeter. The 2021 recipients are Lana Davis, Autumn Brooke Hampton, Isabella Jacobs, Fletcher Jacobs, Trey McCoy, Ava McCranie, Alyssa Spangler, and Carson Tyler. Just about every of these recipients obtained a $2,000 scholarship.

Colquitt Regional also introduced Teacher Partnership Grant Awards to 11 teachers in Colquitt County. This grant is readily available to math or science instructors in Colquitt County faculties to deliver assist for a school project or instructional action.

The recipients involved: Becky Null, Sunset Elementary University Ashley Pitts, Doerun Elementary College Justin McDowell, Hamilton Elementary Faculty Jennifer Merritt, Norman Park Elementary University Christa Bledsoe, R.B. Wright Elementary Faculty Justin Liles, Odom Elementary University Hannah Boyd, Gear Stacey Davenport, Williams Middle School Savannah Plymel, C.A. Grey Junior Significant Melissa Culpepper, CCHS and Christine Ray, Colquitt Christian Academy.

“It is similarly essential to spouse with nearby faculty units in building a pipeline for healthcare personnel by investing in college students from a youthful age,” stated Healthcare facility Authority Chairman Maureen A. Yearta, Ed.D. “Colquitt Regional is honored to play a part in making sure that learners in the county have increased publicity to math and science instructional activities further than the typical curriculum.”

For a lot more information on scholarships offered by Colquitt Regional, be sure to get hold of Foundation Director Nicole Gilbert at 229-890-3416 or [email protected].